Dizziness

Check out this week’s Diagnosis column in the Times Magazine, enjoy the suspense before reading on.

I absolutely remember myself – and most of my friends – having that lightheaded, dizzy feeling upon standing up.  Since everyone experienced it and it went away in seconds, no one ever worried about it, but nor was it ever explained.  And I never noticed that it pretty much went away post-adolescence (then again, in my teaching life I rarely sit down for long periods of time).  So interesting to have both an explanation and to realize that in extreme cases, it could actually be quite scary, as it was for the patient in this column.  And the fact that it happens after a growth spurt makes so much sense…

1 Comment

Filed under article, randomness, science

One response to “Dizziness

  1. I was constantly dizzy as a kid and even remember a few dizzy moments when I first started teaching. My sister even passed out a few times, and the doctor just said not to worry. Thanks for a very infomative post.

Leave a Reply

