What do you eat for breakfast?

I’ve decided to move away from breakfast cereal, inspired by a growing sense that I don’t actually know what it is, most of the time.  I mean, sometimes I buy fancy cereals where you can actually see the oats and raisins and whatnot, but all too often I run out and end up dashing across the street to the cornerstore and grabbing something like Oatmeal Crisp with Almonds, and honestly, delicious as it may be, it’s somewhat unclear what it is, although it’s probably at least partly oats and almonds.  But it’s processed, and sweet, and reading the first section of Michael Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma finally pushed me to examine my food habits more closely.  Cereal is one of the processed foods I eat most often and in greatest quantity, and I’ve done so since I was young, but it makes me wonder…. what else is there?

I suspect I will go towards Turkish breakfast – hardboiled eggs, fruit/veggies, yoghurt, olives, bread, honey – since it’s the other breakfast plan that I’ve actually lived on for any period of time.  Some friends eat steel-cut oatmeal that they cook overnight in a slow-cooker.  Another eats bread with (organic, natural) peanut butter and fruit.  What do you eat?

Changing one’s 6:30 am first meal of the day lifelong habit isn’t going to be easy.  Await further reports from the breakfast front….

21 Comments

Filed under books, confession, food

21 responses to “What do you eat for breakfast?

  1. Nicole

    Funny, I never eat cereal. Mostly for those reasons. I have greek yogurt with honey or lemon curd and granola or berries or bananas every morning. And around 10ish, some cheese toast.

  2. Sarah

    I eat steel cut oats with honey. Takes me about 10-15 minutes on the stove top. Very filling.

  3. 15 more years

    It depends- I need to eat breakfast (because I’ll be passing out from hunger by 10 if I don’t), but I don’t have much of an appetite. I must have 2 cups of coffee when I get up (organic, fresh ground, dark roast) with either organic half and half, or Silk soy hazelnut creamer. (Can you tell I have about 100 lab reports to grade, and prefer to write about my eating habits?) Then, I have either Fage 2% Greek yogurt (although I really should go back to Organic Stonyfield plain yogurt), or Whole Foods brand apple cinnamon instant oatmeal, or a protein shake (1 cup soy milk, 1 scoop whey protein, organic berries, 1 tablespoon of flax seed, 2 scoops collagen powder from my nutritionist, and liquid cocoa extract, [also from my nutritionist]- blend until creamy).

    Let me know if you want to discuss lunch and dinner. I really don’t want to grade those lab reports.

  4. Sometimes waffles. Sometimes toast. Sometimes granola and honey. Sometimes eggs. In other words, whatever I have in the house. LOL.

  5. Catherine

    I have a pretty hearty breakfast, because otherwise I totally lose my energy. I have something like eggs, toast, breakfast sausages, and OJ, or pancakes, fruit, and a glass of milk. Or scones and jam. Perfect on the go breakfast– English muffin with a cheddar omelet folded inside. Yum.

  6. I’m a raisin bran gal, but I’ve been wanting to eat more basic natural foods as well. I’ve been meaning to give this a try sometime, but I haven’t yet: Quinoa and Barley Breakfast Porridge

    My mother makes an omelet (egg beaters, but you could use real eggs) in a microwave omelet maker every morning.

    Good luck finding out what works for you.

  7. We are big fans of steel-cut oats. Takes 15 min on the stove, but per serving I add 1/2 a tart apple (chopped), a handful of walnuts, cinnamon, honey, and ground flax. It’s warm, cozy, delicious, and filling.

    My husband is a big fan of fruit smoothies with yogurt but I don’t like the loud blender in the a.m.

    Looking forward to hearing what you experiment with

  8. I eat at my desk a few hours after I arrive at school. For years that’s been yogurt, granola bar, and fruit. I’m tired of it. Glad I read your post. Your readers gave me some new ideas. 🙂

  9. yvonne

    on sundays i love cooking an omelet with spinach, tomatoes, sundried tomatoes, and whatever cheese i have in the fridge.

    all other days, i’ve tended to lean towards bread that i make myself with wheat flour (so i know what goes into my loaf) toasted with avocado slices on top.

    isn’t it amazing the crap industry foods try to sneak into products? my favourite tricks is when they say that real sugar or honey is used, or olive oil, but then you read further along and sugar substitutes and canola oil seem to magically appear also in the ingredients list. mike pollan is one thought provoking guy.

  10. Rachel

    I’m a low-brow, instant oatmeal girl myself. With a glass of orange juice, followed by a cup of coffee.

    Mornings when I’m in a hurry I’ll have a banana and orange juice, and pick up something (less healthy, usually) for mid-morning.

  11. I eat this multigrain cereal (like oatmeal):

    http://www.maxvite.com/itemdetail.cfm?ProductID=2169&Subcategoryid=283

    I also make hard boiled eggs in the microwave using this:

    http://www.kitchenstoreon10th.com/nordicware-4cavity-microwave-boiler-p-2286.html

    Easy and fast – we use that thing every day.

  12. On Sunday night I cook 1 1/2 cups of quinoa for 15 minutes. I let it cool and put it in a Tupperware and take it to work. For the rest of the week I reheat a little each morning in the microwave and toss on some honey and almonds and a little milk.

    High-protein, low on the food chain, and quick to make at work since I do the cooking on Sunday nights.

    Another favorite is sprouted-grain bread, toasted, spread with avocado on one half and hummus on the other, as a sandwich.

  13. I don’t eat anything before I leave in the morning, and I have hot cocoa when I get to school. Lately I’ve been liking the Kashi go-lean crunchy bars, first or second period. They are filling and tasty.

    But I’m remembering how much I loved a simple demi baguette with butter and jam, while overseas. Yum.

  14. Liz

    I recently read Omnivore’s Dilemma too and it made me reconsider my eating habits as well!

    For breakfast I usually eat bagels, muffins or bread that I made the weekend before.

  15. 1) Thanks Susie, I just bought the microwave egg boiler and can’t wait to get it!
    2) We don’t function so well in the morning (and if memory serves me correctly Ms. Frizzle might relate…) so breakfast to us has always consisted of items that are either already prepared and can be eaten cold or need just a moment in the microwave (hence my excitement about the microwave egg boiler). This usually means hardboiled eggs and/or Morningstar brand breakfast soy sausages. And caffeine, in any form, and lots of it.

    Good luck with the search of your new breakfast!

  16. I am not a morning person, so I like to make batches of things I can take and go, or eat simple things that don’t require a lot of effort. I love to make egg burritos (eggs, veggies, etc. wrapped in a tortilla) because I can freeze them and eat them as I want. Homemade granola is super easy to make and you can pack it full of dried fruit, nuts, seeds, etc. and its tasty on plain yogurt (or soygurt in my case). Homemade w.w. muffins are great. Lastly, smoothies are definitely the breakfast of champions! I use soft tofu in my smoothies with half a banana, frozen fruit and sometimes some veggie or fruit juice. I hope that gives you some ideas!

  17. I mix Yoplait yogurt with ground flax, wheat germ, chopped walnuts, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a banana if one is available and not too soft or yucky. It is delicious and seems really healthy to me.

  18. I’m trying to make time for breakfast these days. Today’s breakfast (based on what I have in my fridge currently) was pineapple chunks, cottage cheese, a whole wheat English Muffin with orange-tangerine marmalade, and coffee. I even posted a picture for your viewing pleasure on my blog.

    P.S. I also like to drink a glass of V8 in the morning. I love the taste and it puts something in my stomach when I don’t have time to sit down and eat.

  19. I am so weird sometimes. I will be hungry for Chicken Caesar Salad or Tomato Bisque Soup…YES! At 9 am!
    Maybe it’s a Russian thing because we don’t really have
    breakfast 😉

    Marina
    http://www.hotforwords.com

  20. julle

    It aint that weird Marina:P I never feel like eating normal breakfast, when i used to go to work at 4 am the only thing I ate was pasta or some noodles 😛

  21. mishka

    every single day for the past four months i’ve had:

    1 whole egg sunny side up + two whites, lots of pepper.
    1 piece of buttered toast
    side of mashed beans
    mexican hot chocolate made with 2% milk
    (nothing at all like the processed packets of swiss miss)

    i find that this breakfast can keep me going for 6-8 hours withouth cravings or hunger pangs. it might seem a bit elaborate but after a while you get used to it and it really doesn’t take more than 10 minutes.

    i reached my goal weight/BMI in december and since then haven’t gained a single pound. i have found this to be THE breakfast for me.

Leave a Reply

