Fumbling towards ecstasy…

So, yesterday I spent about four hours making a cake. An amazing cake, if I do say so myself. I made genoise ladyfingers, this time drawing lines on the parchment so they were much more uniform in size and shape (though I still have a ways to go). Then I made strawberry mousse with whole pieces of fresh strawberries in it, along with grand marnier. I put a layer of ladyfingers on the bottom of the springform pan, then lined up more ladyfingers around the inside edges of the pan, this time overlapping them so that no mousse would ooze out the sides, which happened the last time I tried a similar cake. I poured mousse into the pan, then made another layer of ladyfingers, then more mousse, and put it into the fridge to set. A couple of hours later, I made some fresh whipped cream, took the cake out of the fridge, and prepared to put it on my cake carrier, add the whipped cream, decorate with fresh strawberries and a few remaining ladyfingers, wrap a ribbon around the sides which seems to be de rigeur in strawberry charlotte-land (I know this from browsing cake groups on flickr), and head off to my friend’s 30th birthday party.

I’m not sure what happened next, but suffice to say that as I took the cake out of the springform, it flipped over, landing upside-down and smashed on my (fortunately clean) counter. I think I handled it pretty well: no tears. But what was I going to do? I ended up scraping it off the counter and making trifle – which looked like partially-digested baby food, but tasted amazing – and buying another cake so there’d be a proper-looking cake.  I feel like this should appear on my resume in some way: good in a tragic crisis.

There’s nothing to say here other than, oy vey. But I want to try the strawberry charlotte again soon, so if you’re having a special event, hit me up… you just never know. I’ll try not to drop it.

3 Comments

Filed under food, randomness

3 responses to “Fumbling towards ecstasy…

  1. I’m going to tell my friend Bain to contact you regarding CAKE for my baby shower (not for awhile but never too soon to think about CAKE!). That Strawberry Charlotte sounds yummy…

  2. oh no! I totally would have cried.

  3. Nooooo!! I wanted to cry just reading about it, and I certainly would have cried, screamed, stomped, etc if I were in your shoes. Good on you for being so even-keeled, even alone at home.
    I sure hope the next one goes much better, because it sure does sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

