So, um, brussels sprouts…

I did not like them as a kid.

I did not like them no matter what Mom did.

I did not like them before dessert.

I did not like them with yoghurt.

I did not like them in a bowl.

I did not like them sliced or whole.

I did not like them when grown-up,

Hidden in salad, all cut up.

But in the store the other day,

I saw them and they looked green and gay.

Culinary battle-lines drawn,

I bought them: ’twas my Rubicon.

I sauteed them in oil ’til they sizzled

then o’er top lemon juice I drizzled.

And yes, you guessed it: they’re really good!

Or maybe it’s just the garlic.

5 Comments

Filed under food, randomness

5 responses to “So, um, brussels sprouts…

  1. omg! brussels sprouts are the bomb! the way you made them sounds good. for thanksgiving, im made a kick-ass recipe from bon apetit: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/member/views/1260413

    the glaze on it is a-maz-ing. also, sometimes, i just pan-roast the sprouts until they are slight brown and crunchy, melt some butter on there and eat away.

    welcome to the brussel sprout club!

  2. And I would eat them in a boat!
    And I would eat them with a goat!
    They’re also yummy if you roast them at a high temp with a drizzle of olive oil. Or slice them really really thin and saute with butter and a splash of balsamic. But it’s definitely an adult discovery, I think. Like parsnips, my other new favorite!

  3. They’re also delish roasted with nothing more than salt and olive oil. They make a yummy snack!

  4. all the cabbage-y stuff (brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli – what’s that? cruciferous?) I refused to eat until I was an adult. Now I like them all, especially cooked to be a bit stinky.

    Sauteed, steamed. I guess garlic wouldn’t be bad. I might steam them with a bit of lime juice, but I’ve never prepared them.

  5. bob

    Thankfully, Mom never served them!

Leave a Reply

