This is me on a Friday night…

working away on planning the first few weeks of January, the beginning of our Weather & Water unit.  Planning curriculum has been one of my favorite parts of teaching; it occurs to me that I really miss that process of making choices about what to teach and how to teach it.  No matter how committed to FOSS I am, I’ve lost a little creativity and autonomy this year.  But it’s still exciting to start a new unit, and now, with Levers & Pulleys in the past (finally!) I am able to make more accurate predictions about how I need to modify the curriculum (mostly by adding to it and spreading out lessons over a couple of days), so I’m back in the swing of planning, although still with less autonomy than I’m used to.

Tomorrow, brunch, then El Museo del Barrio, then dancing with a new-old friend and her friends.

Sunday, more schoolwork.   My friends will be arriving from the far corners of the globe where they spirited themselves away for the holidays, and those who’ve been here but working will emerge from their offices again… so really, anything could happen, and then it’s New Year’s Eve, and then New Year’s Day and 2008 starts.

Meanwhile, the process of thinking about what needs to change, and what doesn’t, and what the possibilities are, continues.  And with it, the certainties and reversals of certainty (yes, Jonathan, I waffle!), the absolute confidence that I could do x, y, or z followed by absolute confidence that there’s no way in hell that I should be telling anyone else what to do at this stage of the game, the questions about what kind of work is meaningful but also satisfying and sustainable.  Turns out that when I say casually I’d like to write a book, ha ha, what I really mean is, I’d like to write a book.  A book about science, or education, or history.  Nonfiction, but possibly with a twist of personal history or whatnot.  Now all I need is an idea worth following out on that particular limb.  There are ideas… but worth following?  As my friend pointed out, when you find it, you know.

I think I’ll watch Once and go to bed really late.

2 Comments

Filed under confession, education, midlife crisis, New York, teaching

2 responses to “This is me on a Friday night…

  1. iameduwonkette

    I vote yes to the book. Check out “Thinking Like Your Editor: How to Write Great Serious Nonfiction – and Get it Published” by Susan Rabiner and Alfred Fortunato.

  2. I can give you a lot of practical advice on how to write (and get published) a non-fiction book. It’s a lot of work, so you’ll need to have an idea so compelling that you’re willing to devote the time to do it well. Also, most education books don’t sell very well, so don’t do it for the money. There’s a lot of interest in STEM so a book on how to teach science well could be a winner.

Leave a Reply

