The things that can break your heart…

like finding out that one of your students who receives services for an attention disorder, and is kind of disruptive but really good-hearted, has a chronic illness that causes him/her great pain and from which s/he is expected to die… that in fact, s/he has already lived far, far longer than expected.  I haven’t cried at school in a long time, and I didn’t cry, not really, because it was parent-teacher conferences and I couldn’t look like I’d been sobbing my eyes out – but tears came to my eyes.

Leave a comment

Filed under special education, teaching

Leave a Reply

