In the maze…


in the maze

Originally uploaded by kellyv27

Spent all morning and most of this afternoon at a LEGO robotics training. I didn’t realize it was going to be 100% focused on NXT, so I’m not sure how helpful it will be given that my kids are still working with the old RCX system. But it was still really fun. Despite having worked with NXT last year in Turkey, there were a few things I didn’t know that improve my programming knowledge. I’m a little tempted to buy an NXT kit with my own money, play with it, and introduce it to my kids after the tournament, so that next year we’re fully on NXT.

The body of this robot was built by PACE University students who allowed us to borrow it. I added the sensors and programmed it to complete a maze – first by dead reckoning, then by sensing the difference in light/dark between the space and the lines, and also by using the touch sensor to locate the walls of the table.

It was a very early day and a long one, and I nearly stayed in bed when my alarm went off at 7 am, but now I’m so glad I went. There ARE things worth waking up for.

Leave a comment

Filed under robotics

Leave a Reply

